Going crazy with wordpress

I wanted to give my blog a new face lift.  You know that feeling when you want to start a new thing yet you don’t want to give up the old.  So you try to figure out how the old can become new.   I’ve spent the last 12 or so hours trying to figure out how to make wordpress look more like blogger and cuter and such.  Oh how I have tried to figure out this thing and I have to admit I just can’t wrap my brain around it.  I don’t understand how to add buttons and banners and ribbons to wordpress like you can to blogger.  Yet blogger someone already has my name!  And I love all you at wordpress.  I just fell like a big boob.

I was reading in Artful Blogger about how personalizing your blog is a great thing to do.  I think for me I need to just focus on blogging and maybe not so much how it looks.  Yes I want a handwritten font and no I have no money to pay for any of this.  And yes I want buttons that look really cute to bring you to my facebook page and no I have no clue as to how to do it.  I designed my website and figured that out.  I have done html code and figured that out but wordpress, you leave me stumped!!!!!

I think I will stick to my paints and leave the blog the way it is.

Sorry it’s not so cute but it here and it’s still mine.

Anyone else feel this way?

Amanda

3 responses

  1. I know how you feel! I have been trying to add a translate button to my page since I have noticed a lot of views come from other countries, but it is nearly impossible. I discovered that wordpress will not work with google translate even tho it says wordpress will accept google tools, something to do with the codes. So, SO frustrating! Pretty much to have a blog with everything you want, you have to host your own, which is more than I have the attention span for right now 🙂

  2. If you host your own you don’t have the power of google search being higher at the top the wordpress offers. I just think that I over think the blog in some aspects when all I really want to do is create. I wish I could just have someone else do the blog stuff!! You know like the butler or maid I wish I had 🙂

  3. Pingback: Blog Focus. « Write20Something

Leave a Reply

