No one is ever alone

There comes times in life when you forget that the whole world didn’t stop just because of the news you just got.  I was sitting at Starbucks the other day talking with a lady and waiting for my fair trade pour over.  My iphone started to tweet at me and I excused my self from the lady and her three wild kids to take the call.  Have you ever seen the movie Raising Helen?  The part in the movie she gets the call about her sister’s death.  The whole place is talking and eating and going on with their day but, to Helen the world stopped.  It was my mom on the other end telling me my cousin took his life.  The lady looked up and saw my face and for a moment her world stopped to.

My life in the last few days are what you would call chaotic.  I have no idea where I will be living come Dec 1st.  My Uncle died a month ago of cancer.  It was really hard on my father since he has already lost one brother.  My grandma has been having nursing home trauma.  My kids are adjusting to new schools.  I’m trying to write a book and get a non-profit off the ground.  My husband has been traveling more and more.  I could name a thousand more things.

I was praying and folding the laundry yesterday.  I started to think about the horrible tragic damage that tropical storm Sandy has left behind.  I may have lost two family members but there are others that have lost more.  I may hate folding laundry but there are girls stuck in the sex trade that would gladly take my place.  As I thought about it, by the end of January, I will be living someone with all my things unpacked and all this uncertainty gone in the wind.  My problems are so small compared to others.  They may be small but they are very important to God.

I prayed for peace and prayed for a place to live.  Then my prayers changed I started to pray for all the girls who are trapped.  For all those who have lost everything from a storm.  I prayed for everyone I could think of.  I began to feel the room fill up with peace.

Give and it will be given to you. Give your time and thoughts to others.  Even if you are going through life challenges just remember you are not alone. God cares for what you are going through so much. He loves us all so much.  Don’t let life get to you so much that you don’t see a way out.  God is with you and some where someone else is struggling too.  Someone some where needs you.  It feels good to be needed.  We all need each other.

In the spanse of eternity we have already delt with and overcome the problems of today.  Try to smile and reach out.  Touch another person because maybe they need you just as bad as you need them.  No one is ever alone.  Chances are that someone is going through the same thing you are some where in the world.

Go and make a difference even through your pain.  I promise it will bring you a joy through the darkness.  Giving when you feel you have nothing left to give brings about an everlasting peace that is hard to explain.

I’m at the airport on my way to the funeral.  I would love to hear from you.  I would love to hear how you have made a difference when you didn’t want to and how you were glad you did.

Love you all

Amanda

 

Leave a Reply

